Waterloo Solar is a 75MW solar project located in the North West Province near Vryburg and generates approximately 180 000 MWh of clean renewable energy every year.
The solar project achieved commercial operation in November 2020, less than 2 years after construction commenced, in May 2019.
Part of Round 4 of the South African Government’s Renewable Energy Independent Power Producers Procurement Programme (REIPPPP), Waterloo Solar connects to Eskom’s Mookodi switching station.
Waterloo Solar comprises 261 360 solar modules on 171 hectares of agricultural land.

Engineering, Procurement and Construction Contractor: Juwi Solar ZA Construction 4 (Pty) Ltd.
Operations & Maintenance Contractor: Juwi Solar ZA O&M 1 (Pty) Ltd

Website: www.waterloosolar.co.za
Telephone number: +27 21 670 1400
Physical Address: 2nd Floor, Fernwood House, The Oval, 1 Oakdale Road, Newlands, Cape Town, 7700

Board of Directors

Kiren Maharaj
Independent Non-Executive Director – Chairperson

Sean Friend
Director – Old Mutual

Sunette Smith
Director - Reatile Renewables

Sechaba Selemela
Director – Old Mutual

Mathapelo Malao
Director – Old Mutual

Joseph Tenyane
Director – Phawke Solar

Aloysius Jacobs
Director – AREP

Luthando Brukwe
Independent Non-Executive Director